Thursday, 16 October 2014

Kenya - Premier League 2014

The Kenyan Premier League (known as the Tusker Premier League for sponsorship reasons) is the top tier in the Kenyan football league system. It was formed in 1963 under the Kenya Football Federation but is now controlled by the Football Kenya Federation. All member clubs are fully professional.
The league was mostly stable until the late 1990s and since then its performance has not been even average. Until today, many of the league clubs have little or no finances to support themselves. However, since SuperSport became an official league partner, the league has taken on a more serious role with teams becoming professional and the majority of the clubs managing to get shirt sponsorships. This has seen the level of competition improve compared to the past.
The most successful clubs in the league are A.F.C. Leopards (formerly Abaluhya FC) and Gor Mahia, who have both won the league title a record 13 times.
There are 16 clubs in the Kenyan Premier League. During the course of a season, usually from February to November, each club plays the others twice (a double round-robin system): once at their home stadium and once at that of their opponents, for a total of 30 games. Teams receive three points for a win and one point for a draw. No points are awarded for a loss. Teams are ranked by total points, then goal difference, and then goals scored. At the end of each season, the club with the most points is crowned champion. If points are equal, the goal difference and then goals scored determine the winner. If still equal, the ordering is determined by their head-to-head records. If there is a tie for the championship, for relegation, or for qualification to other competitions, a play-off match at a neutral venue decides rank. The two lowest placed teams are relegated to the National Super League, with its top two teams promoted in their place.

             Kenyan Premier League

No comments:

Post a Comment